The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) defines the legal requirements and standards for promoting the care, learning and development of children from birth to five years in Ofsted registered Childcare provision.   

The EYFS requirements include:

  • The Learning & Development Requirements which shape the activities and experiences that childcare providers offer children.
  • The Assessment Requirements which detail how childcare providers monitor and plan for children's progress.
  • The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements which ensure that children are kept safe and have their welfare promoted.


The Learning & Development Requirements include three prime areas: Communication & Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social & Emotional development - which are crucial for children's learning & development.

The four specific areas: Literacy, Mathematics, understanding the world and Expressive Art & Design through which the prime areas are strengthened. all areas interconnect with learning and development and contributing to other areas. 



In order to identify and plan for each child's successful learning and development, childcare practitioners observe children throughout the day to identify their interests, how they learn, and monitor their progress in all areas of learning and development. We also complete a progress check between 2 and 3 years to share with parents on how their child's is progressing in the prime areas.
a further review the early years foundation stage profile is completed as children come to the end of the EYFS.


The safeguarding & welfare requirements cover 10 areas which relate to the safety and well-being of children:-

* Child Protection
* Suitable People
* Staff Qualifications
* Training
* Support & Skills
* Key Person
* Staff to Child Ratios
* Health
* Managing Children's Behaviour
* Safety & suitability of premises, environment and equipment
* Equal Opportunities
* Information & Records

Learning Journey

A child’s Learning Journey is a collection of different documents collected by Early Years practitioners that provide a picture of a child’s development under the areas of learning identified in the EYFS. The aim is to build a unique picture of what each child knows, feels and can do as well as illustrate his/her particular interests and learning style. The information indicates learning priorities for each child and is used to plan relevant and challenging learning experiences for each individual child. The Learning Journey also supports children’s transitions as they move from nursery to school.



We use the contents of our policies and procedures to ensure that we are providing a high quality provision. Our complete policy manual is available here. 


Little Xplorers is an inclusive setting, we cater for the needs of all individual children. If your child has any additional needs, we work with a variety of outside agencies (Early Years Support Team, Speech & Language Therapists, Occupational Therapists, Paediatric team and Play therapy) to establish a specialised educational plan to meet your child’s needs and enhance your child’s ongoing development. Please see our local offer here.


The nursery is registered with ofsted, but under the new regulations may not be inspected for up to 30 months. Once we have undergone an OFSTED inspection the report will be posted here for viewing.